NASPAA Annual Conference

The Call for Proposals Was Answered!

Thank you to those that submitted a proposal to the 2021 NASPAA Annual Conference. In total NASPAA received over a hundred proposals featuring nearly 400 unique speakers! The 2021 Theme is REIMAGINING THE CIVIC SQUARE and the conference tracks are:

  • Track 1: Create a Laboratory for Change through our PA Curriculum and Research
  • Track 2: Listen to Students and Co-create civic engagement and service learning
  • Track 3: Reach Beyond Inclusion, Beyond Covid to Achieve Equity and Justice
  • Track 4: Repair the Torn Global Fabric 
  • Track 5: Public Service Values Across the Undergraduate Curriculum of the University

The conference committee will begin the hard work of evaluating and selecting sessions to be included in the programs. Look for notifications in late June/early July on the status of your submission.


#NASPAA2021 Conference Format

The 2021 NASPAA Annual Conference will be primarily an online experience where you will be able to share, learn, connect, and showcase in a safe and sustainable way. If some pandemic restrictions are lifted by early September, NASPAA will seek to add in-person components as we are able-- please see format options below. Taking place on our online conference platform, Pathable, attendees will be able to engage with live and prerecorded sessions, schedule meetings, search the agenda, and interact with peers, speakers, and sponsors. All presentations through the platform will integrate with Zoom. Most sessions will take place between 11:00 am – 5:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) USA on October 28 and 29, 2021.

This conference is an important moment for the NASPAA community and public service education to convene – there are important issues, ideas, and research to discuss.


Welcome Teaching Public Affairs Conference (TPAC)

NASPAA is pleased to be co-locating this year with the Section on Public Administration Education (SPAE) of American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)’s Teaching Public Administration Conference (TPAC). We look forward to SPAE members collaborating with NASPAA on issues related to research and teaching, especially in the context of civic engagement and inclusive societies. 


#NASPAA2021 Conference Chairs

Dr. David Van Slyke & Dr. Gloria Billingsley
Dr. David Van Slyke, Syracuse University & Dr. Gloria Billingsley, Jackson State University

We are pleased to announce that NASPAA President, Laura Bloomberg, has named the 2021 NASPAA Annual Conference Chairs. Dr. Gloria Billingsley, Professor, MPA Program Director, Department of Public Policy and Administration at Jackson State University and Dr. David Van Slyke, Dean, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University will co-chair the conference, which will be a continuation of last year's conference theme "building the new civic square." "We have an unprecedented opportunity to build a more responsive, equitable and just society and I think NASPAA and the accredited programs it represents are positioned to have national impact and be levers of change in their countries, states and local communities," Dr. Billingsley stated. “It is an honor to co-chair this year’s conference and to help engage our colleagues in the vital discussion of what public affairs programs are doing to help strengthen democratic governance, equity, and opportunities for all individuals, and to train tomorrow’s leaders to have an enduring impact,” shared Dr. Van Slyke. NASPAA looks forward to working with the co-chairs to plan a meaningful and engaging 2021 conference!

Thank you to the 2021 Annual Conference Committee!

  • Gloria Billingsley, Jackson State University, Dept. of Public Policy & Administration, CO-CHAIR
  • David Van Slyke, Syracuse University, Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs, CO-CHAIR
  • Chris Adams, The Ohio State University, John Glenn College of Public Affairs
  • Victoria M. DeFrancesco Soto, The University of Texas at Austin, LBJ School of Public Affairs
  • Sean McCandless, University of Illinois Springfield, Department of Public Administration
  • Kristie Roberts Lewis, Southern University, Nelson Mandela College of Government & Social Sciences
  • Mindy Romero, University of Southern California, Sol Price School of Public Policy
  • Carissa Schively Slotterback, University of Pittsburgh, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
  • Paul Smoke, New York University, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
  • Lois Warner, Rutgers University–Newark, School of Public Affairs and Administration

Check this out