2023 Accreditation Institute Recap

October 31, 2023
Thank You to Our Sponsors!

The 2023 Accreditation Institute (AI) took place on October 11, 2023, as part of 2023 NASPAA Annual Conference. NASPAA staff have had time to reflect on the conversations that transpired during the event, and hope that all participants have gained valuable insights and perspective on the discussions.


NASPAA and COPRA welcomed over 190 attendees to the Accreditation Institute. Participants representing over 58 institutions in 7 countries gathered to learn about NASPAA Accreditation. The 2023 Institute was facilitated by Dr. Kate Hallihan (The Ohio State University) and Dr. Dana Harsell (University of North Dakota). 2023-2024 COPRA Chair, Dr. Gloria Billingsley (Jackson State University) and Martha Bohrt, NASPAA Chief Accreditation Officer, were also in attendance. The day was divided into five sessions covering topics from tips to hosting a successful NASPAA Site Visit, to the accreditation review process, to the seven NASPAA Accreditation Standards.


Slides will be available on the NASPAA Accreditation Institute webpage here in Spring 2024. 


What Did Participants Think of the 2023 NASPAA Accreditation Institute?

After the Accreditation Institute took place, a survey was sent to attendees.The findings indicated that 89 percent of participants agreed that the AI provided useful tools to  an accreditation self-study report. In addition, 97 percent of participants strongly agreed that the AI provided clear information about the NASPAA Accreditation Standards. Lastly, over 91 percent of respondents strongly agreed that they would recommend the NASPAA Accreditation Institute to a colleague from their own or another program.


NASPAA once again thanks the following members for sponsoring the 2023 Accreditation Institute:

  • Northeastern University, School of Public Policy and Affairs
  • John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Master of Public Administration program
  • University of Colorado Denver, School of Public Affairs
  • University of Houston, Hobby School of Public Affairs
  • San Diego State University, School of Public Affairs
  • Oregon State University
  • University of Central Florida, School of Public Administration